>What’s For Breakfast Today

10 Mar

>Roast beef hash served with a ribbon of wasabi (it’s horseradish. Only better) and a fried egg with garden pesto. ‘Cos I can.

…Which reminds me, I did try the “green eggs” trick the other day, beating eggs with green pesto and scrambling them:Yum! They’re delicious. And green. With a few (little) slices of dry salami chopped up and fried just ahead of scrambling the eggs, even better.

Just don’t try getting the kids to eat ’em.

7 Responses to “>What’s For Breakfast Today”

  1. Phillip 10 March 2011 at 5:51 pm #

    >My kids ASKED for green eggs and ham one morning not terribly long ago. I think they were 4 and 8 at the time. I wish I'd known about the green pesto, I just used food coloring. They ate them and asked for more, so I guess it didn't do too badly.

  2. Anonymous 11 March 2011 at 2:44 am #

    >The last time I had green eggs was my first crossing of the Equator and in the interest of being properly ship shape to meet with Neptune and his court we were fed a hearty breakfast.Rey B

  3. Keads 11 March 2011 at 2:52 am #

    >@ Rey B- Welcome back Shellback =)

  4. Roberta X 11 March 2011 at 6:48 am #

    >"Hearty breakfast." Hmpf. Did you know my Dad and all my uncles who served were Navy men?

  5. PA State Cop 12 March 2011 at 12:16 am #

    >Looks like the first C-Rat I ever ate. Scrambled Eggs, Exact same color. Never did look at the date of manufacture.

  6. Anonymous 12 March 2011 at 3:04 am #

    >Thanky kindly Keads it was a few years back, 1984 to be precise. Can't say I knew them for certain Miss Roberta but we probably haunted some of the same ports. My tour ran from 79-00 so we may have crossed wakes. Rey B

  7. Roberta X 12 March 2011 at 7:09 am #

    >You wouldn't have known 'em — the older boys all served during WW II and my Dad just missed Korea — but most of them crossed the Equator, too. I suspect their accounts of the…festivities…were somewhat bowdlerized.

Leave a Reply

