>Scratch Lunch

9 Jun

>I found the ScratchTruck for lunch today. They had plenty food — nearly a week of operation has helped them fine-tune how much to carry. “Modern mobile comfort food,” their slogan sets the bar high–

[Drumroll, please]

–And they clear it easily! Quite a few items on the menu. (Click to embiggen.) I had the burger (good-tasting beef, flame-grilled, with Gorgonzola and bacon marmalade, on a nice Cibatta-esque bun), fries (skin on, twice-fried, excellent taste; not much salt and didn’t need it) and their outstanding watermelon-jalapeno lemonade. The latter is refreshing and not at all hot; the peppers are only singing harmony.
Just a A few photos will follow. I was hungry, so I didn’t snap many before digging in. Service was friendly and fast, especially for cooked-to-order food.

Scratch: food from a truck. First-rate food. Roberta X approved!

8 Responses to “>Scratch Lunch”

  1. Jeffro 9 June 2011 at 7:39 am #

    >I've gotten some really kick arse Mexican food from some less than photogenic roach coaches. Plus, the menu is authentic – organ meat fillings for tacos and such. Doesn't bother a farm boy like me. It's a gamble, but someone has to do it.

  2. Noah D 9 June 2011 at 8:22 am #

    >And to fill in that blank spot on their website: how much was the bill?

  3. Skip 9 June 2011 at 12:04 pm #

    >Been eatin' offa roachcoaches for thirty years.Some are killer, most not so much.As a construction supe I would set up the project with the coach in in my plan and have them meet my schedule.Some of the good ones would be there for breakfast at six for a sixthirty start.Nuthin' like a OJ an' egg sammich afore ya start.

  4. Roberta X 9 June 2011 at 4:41 pm #

    >$10, Noah; cheaper to hit a drive-thru but in this case, you do get what you pay for. My typical lunch tab at the luncheonette across from the Skunk Works is $7.50 to 10.00; they're okay but not in the same league as the food truck.

  5. BGMiller 9 June 2011 at 5:04 pm #

    >Epic WANT!BGM

  6. Noah D 9 June 2011 at 6:15 pm #

    >That's better than I expected – the lack of up-front pricing on their website seemed odd. From what they're serving, it sounds right in line with what I'd expect to pay for a full order from a higher-end lunch place.

  7. Ed Skinner 9 June 2011 at 6:16 pm #

    >Chocolate espresso pudding???Where's my calculator … Ok, let's say I can eat 9 … no, 15 bites of that and it's 2 bites for a buck and a half … that's … … … oh, hell, here's my wallet – just gimme the whole bucket. Now!

  8. BGMiller 10 June 2011 at 4:13 am #

    >I now have four reasons to make a sing through Indy…Mmmmmmmm…..Spicy Chicken Cone…..BGM

Leave a Reply

